What I Ate This Week – Recipe Roundup #7

Sunday

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Shepherd’s Pie

Review: 5/5. This was insanely delicious and total comfort food. My boyfriend ate all the leftovers and requested that I make it more often!

Modifications: I limited my carrots and used half a yellow onion instead of red onion – red onion has way more carbs.

Macros: 429 calories | 10g net carbs | 30g protein | 28g fat

Monday

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Taco Roll-ups / Taco Salad

Review: 4/5. This was good- don’t get me wrong. However, it was so RICH. I’m not entirely sure what I was expecting, considering it’s seasoned beef rolled in pure cheese, but it was a little bit much for me. My boyfriend really liked it, though, and I think it would be really cute for appetizers. I ended up eating just one roll and then having a taco salad to balance it out a bit.

Macros: 671 calories | 3g net carbs | 51g protein | 50g fat

Tuesday

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Spinach and Feta Chicken Burgers, Asparagus, and Cauli-rice

Review: 4/5. These burgers were pretty tasty! I definitely enjoyed them, but it’s not something that I would really crave. I think trying these in the form of a beef burger would definitely pump up the flavor. That being said, they are certainly still worth a try- I enjoyed them! I just pan-fried the asparagus with olive oil and a little lemon, then seasoned with salt, pepper, and oregano.

Modifications: I used fresh spinach that I briefly wilted in a pan.

Macros: 500 calories | 6g net carbs | 33g protein | 38g fat

Wednesday

chickenpizza

BBQ Chicken-crust Pizza

Review: 3483048203842/5. This is amazing. Drop everything, make it NOW. My boyfriend literally cannot stop talking about it and requesting it, he said that it was one of the best things that I’ve ever made…ever. And I have tried a lot of recipes in the past 5+ years we have been together. It’s amazing and smoky and cheesy, and you can hold it in your hands! So awesome.

Modifications: I used Ruled.me’s BBQ sauce; this is something you MUST make if you’re on a ketogenic diet. Low carb BBQ sauce is nearly impossible to buy, and this is a super simple recipe. Not much harder than just buying a bottle. I also omitted the red onions (as delicious as they would be) for green onions, just because the red onions are so high in sugar.

Macros: 494 calories | 7g net carbs | 50g protein | 31g fat

Thursday

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Monterey Chicken with Cauliflower Risotto

Review: 4/5. This was good, but didn’t blow me away. To be fair, I need to try it with bacon- that may certainly push it over the top! I would definitely pound the chicken breasts thin, too; I sliced a breast in half length-wise and it still wasn’t thin enough for my liking. The chicken:topping ratio was off in the thicker parts of the breast.

Modifications: I forgot to thaw out bacon, so I omitted it. Oops. I also used the same BBQ sauce as mentioned above. I also used cheddar instead of colby jack cheese.

Macros: 484 calories | 9g net carbs | 36g protein | 31g fat

Friday

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Chicken Fajitas and Beef Tacos

Review: 5/5. Chicken fajitas are an amazing standby for Mexican food on keto, and is never a bad option, of course (I also dipped mine in queso, but shhh). I get an occasional Mexican restaurant taco craving- I just can’t seem to recreate the same seasoning! So I just ordered two tacos and dumped them out on the plate. No shame in my low carb game. It’s like a taco salad, but less lettuce…it’s amazing.

Modifications: No tortilla/taco shells.

Leave a Reply

