What I Ate This Week – Recipe Roundup #5

I apologize for the lack of pictures this week, y’all! It has been a crazy week! This week I share with you some delightful recipes, along with what I packed to eat when I had to go out of town for a conference. I also discovered a soup appetizer I could actually have- woohoo!

Sunday

italianmeatloaves

Mini Mozzarella Stuffed Italian Meatloaves with mashed cauliflower and green beans

Review: 4/5. This meatloaf was good- but I have other cheesy meatloaf recipes I prefer, so I probably won’t make this again. I really enjoyed it though! My boyfriend did as well- he is a much bigger mozzarella fan than I am. Don’t get me wrong, I like mozzarella, but I prefer a good sharp cheddar. I served this alongside canned green beans- I just emptied a can into a sauce pan with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a chicken bouillon cube. For the mashed cauliflower, I microwaved cauliflower until it was tender, then blended it together with 2 tbsp butter, 1oz sharp cheddar cheese, and 1 tsp minced garlic. I added a splash of heavy cream to make it easier to blend, too.

Modifications: I used reduced-sugar ketchup for dipping instead of using the pasta sauce, because I am strange and can’t have meatloaf without ketchup.

My Macros: 545 calories | 9g net carbs | 29g protein | 40g fat

Monday

fetabrinedchicken

Feta-brined chicken with asparagus and roasted daikon radish

Review: 5/5. This is amazing. The feta-brined chicken was fabulous and I will use this recipe over and over again- in fact, I may cook it on Easter. After I took the chicken out the pan, I threw the asparagus in and grilled it, and seasoned it with a squeeze of lemon juice, salt, and pepper. This was my first time trying radishes and I loved them (although my boyfriend was not a big fan)- I tossed them in olive oil, salt, and pepper, and roasted them in the oven. So yummy.

Modifications: I only used 2 chicken breasts, rather than a whole roast chicken, so I halved the brine. I poked holes in the chicken breasts with a fork and brined for about 5 hours before cooking. I also only panfried them, since the breasts were relatively thin.

My macros: 470 calories | 8g net carbs | 35g protein | 35g fat

Tuesday

I had to go out of town to a conference on this day, so I packed a lunch and ordered wings for dinner when I got home (my favorite lazy meal).

In my lunch bag, I packed string cheese, mini pepperonis, pistachios, and a Quest bar. Meat + cheese + nuts are honestly an ideal packed lunch combination- you can also throw pickles and olives in there for some variety!

Wednesday

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

Chicken with Bacon and Mustard Sauce over steamed broccoli with pepperjack cauliflower

Review: 5/5. This was really tasty, and incredibly easy! It  I may use this again for a quick weeknight meal. The cooking time was just enough time for me to throw together the side dishes. While the chicken was cooking, I steamed cauliflower in the microwave until very tender. Then I mashed it with a potato masher until it was in small pieces, then added in 2oz cream cheese and 2.5oz leftover pepperjack cheese, stirred it all together, microwaved it a little longer, then stirred it again. Then, I just steamed some plain broccoli. Super yummy.

Modifications: I thought the sauce may end up a little thin on the chicken, so I only used 1 cup of broth, and still ended up using xanthan gum to thicken.

My macros: 445 calories | 9g net carbs | 46g protein | 26g fat

Thursday

Slow Cooker Crack Chicken

Review: 3.5/5. I wouldn’t call this bad by any means, it was good, but it isn’t something I would make the same way again. I did use a different brand of powdered ranch, and I think that it may have not been as strong of a flavoring as the normal Hidden Valley that I use. It just didn’t seem to taste very flavorful to me- mostly like chicken and cream cheese. Of course, that’s still pretty tasty, but I was looking for something a little more zesty. I think using a flavored cream cheese like the blog post suggests would be an awesome idea- I may try that in the future, because the ease of this recipe was REALLY nice.

Modifications: None.

My Macros: 418 calories | 6g net carbs | 33g protein | 28g fat

Friday

Carrabba’s 6oz sirloin with asparagus and 1 cup of Mama Mandola’s Sicilian Spicy Chicken soup (without noodles) and a side of spicy Sicilian butter

Review: 4/5. Pretty good- and there are a lot more menu items that I can try. I will probably not order this particular combination again; the steak was good, but not great, and the asparagus was nothing special (I got maybe 5 spears and they weren’t even trimmed properly). However, the soup was so good. It was so nice to be able to order a soup without noodles; it was tasty and comforting! I will likely go back and try some of their other dishes; they seem to have a ton of low carb options for an Italian restaurant.

My macros: 553 calories | 12g net carbs | 44g protein | 33g fat

Leave a Reply

