What I Ate This Week – Recipe Roundup #3!

Sunday

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Tuna Noodless Casserole

Review: 5/5. This was delicious and totally hit the craving for tuna noodle casserole. Having the peas in this seemed indulgent, since you don’t get to eat peas often on keto. If you wanted to cut the carbs down more, you could replace the peas with celery, but I happen to really like peas.

Modifications: I halved the recipe since my boyfriend doesn’t like tuna. Only used 1/2c cheese. Omitted the extra mushrooms.

My macros: (1/4 original recipe) 460 calories | 11g net carbs | 36g protein | 26g fat

Monday

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Chicken Pot Pie

Review: 5/5. This really satisfied the craving I had for chicken pot pie. I was having a week of comfort food cravings, can you tell? The only thing I didn’t absolutely love about it was that the top was more of a bread and less of a pie crust, but come on- it’s keto, I can’t be too picky! It was very nice and flavorful. My boyfriend loved it, too.

Modifications: I omitted the peas to save carbs.

My macros: 709 calories | 11g net carbs | 39g protein | 56g fat

Tuesday

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Cheesy Smoked Sausage Skillet

Review: 5/5 every time. This is a favorite, for sure- it’s so easy and so flavorful and indulgent. Nothing bad to say here.

Modifications: Obviously I omitted the potatoes and replaced with cauliflower florets. I also used heavy cream instead of whole milk. I also didn’t want to buy white pepper or nutmeg, since I don’t use them that often, so I just season the sauce based on how I’m feeling. Black pepper, a little smoked paprika, and some garlic powder is nice.

My macros: (for 1/4 skillet) 499 calories | 7g net carbs | 19g protein | 41g fat

Wednesday

spinachomelette

Spinach, ham, and cheese omelette with strawberries

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Steak and Pepper Jack Cauliflower

Review: 5/5. This is so incredibly amazing! It’s really yummy and rich, and is just something different to do with cauliflower, which is always nice! My only complaint is that it doesn’t yield very much for how many calories it is…but once I hit maintenance mode, look out.

Modifications: I forgot the bacon. and it was still amazing.

My macros: (for 1/4 recipe) 332 calories | 5g net carbs | 10g protein | 30g fat

Thursday

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Chili

Review: 5/5. This is my go-to chili recipe. So delicious and easy! The sausage + beef combo is really tasty.

Modifications: None.

My macros: 411 calories | 9g net carbs |30g protein | 25g fat

Friday

Jack’s Cosmic Dogs

My order: 2 bunless hot dogs with chili and cheese sauce.

Review: 3.5/5. Jack’s is amazing- period. Their hot dogs are an absolute 5/5 from what I remember pre-keto, but for what I got, it didn’t really wow me. I felt like it didn’t really have a big pop of flavor, and it didn’t really satisfy me for very long. I would rather have plain chili cheese dogs at home. I will definitely go again, because they have a bunch of options, but will not order this same thing again. Next time, I think I’ll try the Atomic Dog, bunless…I think the onions and spicy yellow mustard would give it more of the kick I was missing. (Apologies for the lack of picture, my camera didn’t want to work!)

Macros unknown.

Leave a Reply

