What I Ate This Week – Recipe Roundup #2!

Another week, another recipe roundup! I must say, I made some true gems this week. I know you’ll love these recipes!

Sunday

Jalapeño Cheddar Burgers with broccoli

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Review: 5/5. This was just delicious, bursting with flavor! I have nothing bad to say about this. I will definitely make this again. Adding almond flour or crushed pork rinds and making stuffed meatloaf (or meatballs!) with this filling would also be really, really good. The possibilities are endless! I served it with steamed broccoli tossed in a bit of butter and seasoned with salt, freshly ground pepper, and garlic powder. I will definitely make this again!

Modifications: To save calories, I used 1lb of ground chuck. I also seasoned the ground beef with garlic powder instead of chopped onion (I actually meant to use onion powder but grabbed the wrong bottle), Worcestershire sauce, and freshly ground black pepper instead of the suggested meat seasoning. I tried to cook this as suggested but had some (…fire-y…) issues with my broiler, so I tried to bake it, and had some smoky issues, so I just finished it by pan-frying it. It was just one of those nights, apparently! I think if I had been able to finish it in the broiler, the filling wouldn’t have spilled out so much, but honestly, who cares? It all made it into my mouth, and that’s the important thing here. But if you want a hidden filling surprise, I would use the 28oz ground beef and cook in the broiler.

My macros (per burger): 452 calories | 4g net carbs | 25g protein | 37g fat

Monday

cheddarsausagebiscuits

White Cheddar Sausage Biscuits

Review: 5/5. These are really good and super easy to just grab and go. The process to make them was not tedious at all, much like normal baking- I just threw everything in the stand mixer and it was good to go. It has a good (though dense) texture and doesn’t taste ‘suspicious’- aka, there’s nothing hinting that these would be low carb. I’m not someone that’s very into making carb-replacements like biscuits, so I may not make these often, but I definitely enjoyed them this week! Just 2 fills me up like a big meal. I think these would be really cute to set out for a brunch.

Modifications: I didn’t have a muffin top pan, so I used a regular muffin tin- it made 12 in my pan.

My macros (1 biscuit out of 12)186 calories | 3g net carbs | 9g protein | 15g fat

meatloaf

Cheesy Meatloaf Minis with Cauliflower Risotto and leftover broccoli

Meatloaf Review: 10/5. If you taste this recipe, this rating will make sense! This was one of my favorite meatloaf recipes before starting keto, so I decided to give it a keto makeover and I am SO glad I did. This tastes even better than I remember! It is a gorgeous combination of sweet (from the ketchup) and savory with interesting flavors from the dijon and horseradish. It’s not just an assault of savory flavors on your mouth, like a lot of meatloaves can be. You’ve got to try it.

Meatloaf Modifications: I used 80/20 ground chuck instead of sirloin, mostly because it’s so much cheaper. I also used reduced sugar ketchup. I replaced the breadcrumbs with crushed pork rinds (I just put them in a food processor and pulsed a few times) in the same amount (so 1/2 cup).

My meatloaf macros (1 meatloaf mini)439 calories | 4g net carbs | 37g protein | 29g fat

 

Risotto Review: 5/5. This recipe is from The Wicked Good Ketogenic Diet Cookbook and it is probably my favorite recipe in there out of the ones I’ve tried. It has become a staple in our house because it is so dang easy- it’s made in the microwave in less than 10 minutes! It is lovely and creamy and cheesy and herby; it’s definitely a distinct change from cauli-rice and mashed cauli, which is delicious, but sometimes we’ve got to have a change.

Risotto Modifications: None.

My risotto macros (1/4 recipe)156 calories | 2g net carbs | 4g protein | 14g fat

Tuesday

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Crack Slaw

Review: 5/5. This is a staple recipe in our house- as it is in many keto households! It’s probably the most famous keto recipe. It is an addictive mix of sweet and savory. It took me a long time to try it because it just didn’t look that appealing to me- but trust me, it’s delicious!

Modifications: I half the recipe since we’re just a 2 person household and use beef. I also season with Stevia to taste.

My macros (1/4 skillet – recipe halved): 365 calories | 4g net carbs | 30g protein | 24g fat

Wednesday

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Jambalaya

Review: 4/5. This was good! My boyfriend absolutely loved it- he ate a serving for dinner and then brought the rest to work to eat for lunch. For me, the only issue with using vegetables as carb replacements is the sweetness that comes with it…when you stop eating sugar, your taste buds change! This was a delicious recipe, but to me, I wanted a more savory kick for jambalaya. I wouldn’t complain about eating it again, but I’m still on the search for the perfect jambalaya recipe!  I definitely recommend you try it though- it was very good.

Modifications: I only used about half an onion, or 1 whole small onion to save carbs. I didn’t do this, but would recommend using only green pepper if you aren’t crazy about red peppers- it saves carbs and I think would curb some of the sweetness. I only used sausage because I wasn’t in the mood for chicken and am allergic to shrimp.

My macros (1/4 the halved recipe): 409 calories | 13g net carbs | 19g protein | 28g fat

Thursday

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Chili Cheese Dog Casserole

Overview: A super simple single serving! Splendid, I say. It’s so super how you can savor such simple, savory, scrumptious snacks! I’m done with the alliteration. This is a way less depressing way to enjoy chili dogs – in a little ramekin! I don’t know about you, but when I make quick lunch keto chili dogs, it’s sometimes just plain hot dogs on a paper plate with chili blobbed on and a melted slice of cheese on top. Honestly, it’s pretty depressing looking. Serving it this way makes it feel cozier and more homemade. Comfort food isn’t always wholesome or pretty- but it sure is tasty.

I did use Applegate 100% grass-fed, pasture raised beef, no nitrate hot dogs for this- you can use whatever you want, but I feel like since I used canned chili and American cheese, I wanted the hot dogs to be a little healthier. You could also use the nice hot dogs, leftover chili, and a nice cheese if you wanted! Gourmet chili dogs, oh yeah!

My macros: 510 calories | 4g net carbs | 31g protein | 41g fat

Friday

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Olive Garden’s Chicken Margherita with a side of parmesan crusted zucchini and a house salad w/ signature Italian dressing

Review: 1/5 for zucchini. 3/5 for chicken. I would give this a resounding ‘meh’, honestly. The zucchini tasted SWEET. It said “parmesan crusted” but I’m wondering if those were breadcrumbs on top. I didn’t eat any more than 2 bites. The chicken was okay, but nothing special. It wasn’t very flavorful. I wouldn’t choose to eat it again, but if you have to go to Olive Garden, it’s not a bad option for keto.

Modifications: I picked the croutons off of the salad.

Website macros: 780 calories | 14g net carbs | 76g protein | 46g fat

Leave a Reply

