What I Ate This Week – Recipe Round Up

I try a LOT of new recipes- I can’t help it. I crave new culinary experiences. Sometimes I get so caught up in trying new recipes, I forget to create my own. That means that I don’t have anything to blog about- which sucks, because I like to blog! Therefore, I decided to do a new thing on my blog. Every week, I am going to post what recipes I ate for the week; I’ll provide pictures, mini-reviews, list any keto modifications I made, and link to the recipe. I’ll also provide my own macros based on what I used.

A word about my meals: As with most people adapted to a keto way of eating, I don’t eat 3 square meals a day. I typically drink Powerade Zero + Lite Salt for breakfast and will eat an easy snack/meal (or leftovers) in the afternoon, then eat a big dinner. Most of what will be listed here will be dinners, unless I happen to make something else! I typically go out on Fridays for date nights, so I am going to list what I order and at what restaurant to provide you with keto options for going out to eat. Finally, I order wings every Saturday after a long day at class, and that’s my only meal of the day aside from a small salad (….I order a lot of wings) so I won’t bore you with those details every single week!

I really hope that you enjoy this and that it gives you some good ideas. I know that not everybody has the time or enjoys scouring the Internet for recipes and figuring out whether they are good or not, much less keto. Since this is something I enjoy, I hope I can take some of the guesswork out for you.

Sunday

Jalapeño Popper Chicken Casserole 

Boy, I wish I had taken a picture of this. Whoops. It smelled so delicious that I wanted to eat it immediately!

Review: 5/5 – I added it to my recipe box! Delicious! Nothing bad to say about this. I worry about chopped chicken based casseroles sometimes, but this wasn’t overly chicken-y at all, it was very flavorful! If you pre-cook the chicken and bacon at the beginning of the week, this is an incredibly quick and easy recipe.

Modifications: This is a naturally keto recipe (yay!) so I didn’t have to make any adjustments for carbs’ sake. The only adjustment I made was using half the amount of mayo recommended. I felt like the texture didn’t need it, and I wanted to save the calories.

My macros: for 1/8 (but I ate 1/4!): 341 calories | 4g net carbs |  19g protein |27g fat. (but always calculate your own!!)

Monday

gumbo-laya

Gumbo-laya 

Review: 5/5. Another one for the recipe box- and I’m pretty selective about what I put in there. I was planning on making garlic cauli-rice to go with it, but ended up just eating it as a soup and it was incredible! Very flavorful and a good way to get in a lot of veggies. 1/6 was a very generous serving. I may half the recipe next time since I’m just cooking for 2.

Modifications: This was definitely higher in carbs, so I restricted the veggies: 100g celery, 70g onion, 6oz okra. I also made sure to get the lowest carb canned tomato products I could find. Also, obviously, I didn’t use rice!

My macros: for 1/6: 360 calories | 10g net carbs | 27g protein | 21g fat…not including garlic cauli-rice.

Tuesday

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Boneless Short Ribs and Collards

This one is a simple recipe of my own, if you can even call it that. I threw some chopped collard greens into my slow cooker, seasoned with salt & pepper, put seasoned short ribs on top and poured in beef broth until the collards were mostly covered. Then I cooked it on low for 8 hours. I would give it a 4/5- good, simple food that could be kicked up a notch, but in a pinch, it’s an easy, warm, homemade meal!

My macros: for 4oz meat, 3.6oz collards, and 25g onions: 440 calories | 3g net carbs | 20g protein | 36g fat

Wednesday

 

knockyoursocksoff

Knock Your Socks off Chicken and Sausage 

Review: I would give this a 3.5/5 for my own attempt. Learn from my mistakes and I think it would be awesome. For me, this was not ideal for a slow cooker recipe. It did not thicken very well (I was not home, so could not take the lid off the slow cooker), so I had to use some xanthan gum. The flavor was good, but the texture was lacking something. I think this really needs to be served over cauli-rice or zoodles, for sure. I also think that searing the sausage, and using good quality, flavorful sausage (which I did), prior to putting it in the crock pot would really kick it up. I don’t think I’ll make this again as a weeknight recipe, simply because it’s not a “set it and forget it” slow cooker recipe. However, in the future, I think it would be worth trying out with the aforementioned modifications.

Modifications: I used more chicken broth instead of white whine, and Dijon mustard instead of grainy mustard simply because I didn’t feel like buying new mustard, haha! I was also in a rush and threw all the ingredients in there together, rather then blending up the cream cheese and broth then spreading it over the meat. I had to use xanthan gum to thicken.

My macros: for 1/4: 479 calories | 7g net carbs | 54g protein | 27g fat

Thursday

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Bacon and Cheese Omelette with Blueberries

I rarely make myself breakfast or lunch, usually opting to snack, so this was a lovely treat! Nothing but a simple 2-egg omelette, stuffed with 2 slices of thick cut bacon, 1oz of sharp cheddar cheese, and a sprinkle of green onion…because I LOVE green onions! And some yummy blueberries on the side. It fit my macros, but other berries are lower carb. 5/5. Omelettes rock.

My macros: 376 calories | 8g net carbs | 24g protein | 27g fat

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

 Beef Stroganoff Soup

Review: 4/5. Well…beauty is on the inside, right? Haha. This recipe is not pretty, but it does taste really good. It wasn’t as thick as I would have really liked (broth consistency)- perhaps some cream cheese would help. It also (as you can see) separated pretty badly, but of course that’s just cosmetic. It was very rich and very filling- I couldn’t finish my bowl. It’s definitely a very savory comfort food.

Modifications: I used half an onion (60g) and added xanthan gum to thicken.

My macros: for 1/6: 516 calories | 10g net carbs | 24g protein | 38g fat

Friday

unwich

My boyfriend and I went thrift store shopping and then ate at Jimmy John’s- talk about an economical date night! Did you know that they do something called an “unwich”, where you can pick any sub and they wrap it in lettuce? A beautiful, lovely soul on r/keto posted nutritional information for each, since it isn’t laid out clearly; but as with all restaurant food, it’s usually a ballpark estimate. I decided to get the country club because I was just craving that classic sub sandwich. It was delicious! Their lettuce wraps are very tidy, if you just roll the wrapper down as you eat it, it’s totally mess free.

Leave a Reply

