Bacon Brussels Sprouts

I have found myself in a vegetable rut. Broccoli, green beans, cauliflower, over and over again. I have decided to branch out and face my childhood fears and try cooking some new veggies! Before I made these, I had never had brussels sprouts before. I’m super glad I tried them! They were delicious-not too strong tasting at all-and were enjoyed by both me and my carb eating boyfriend. I think the key here is getting some nice color on the sprouts- of course, the bacon doesn’t hurt, either!

Bacon Brussels Sprouts

  • 3 slices thick-cut bacon (I used Smithfield)
  • 16oz raw brussels sprouts, halved
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • garlic powder
  • salt and pepper
  1. Fry your bacon over medium heat. When cooked, remove from the pan and chop into bite size pieces.
  2. Melt the butter into the bacon grease in the pan, then add your brussels sprouts, cut side down.
  3. Let them cook there for awhile. You want to get some nice color on there. Once they are sufficiently browned (or charred! I personally like the taste and texture with sprouts), add bacon pieces and garlic powder, salt, and pepper to taste and sautè until they are the tenderness you desire. I like them with a little bite.

Per serving (4 servings): 173 calories | 10g carbs | 4g fiber | 6g protein | 13g fat

Leave a Reply

