Recipe Review – 4-Cheese Garlic Spaghetti Squash

While I am still recovering from my broken ankle, I decided to review some recipes, since I don’t really have the stamina to make up my own stuff and be creative in the kitchen just yet. While it does kind of seem redundant, I’m trying to pick recipes that don’t have any reviews, so I can at least add something! Today I am reviewing Eat Well 101’s Baked Four Cheese Spaghetti Squash….

and my goodness, is it delicious. I would normally post the nutritional information, but this website offers it (along with some other things) for purchase, so I don’t want to take away their business. It is a little bit of a carb splurge due to the spaghetti squash, but well worth it, in my opinion!

This is a super easy recipe that consists of splitting a spaghetti squash in half and scooping out the seeds, putting in some cheese, pouring a seasoned cream mixture into the hollow, topping with cheese, and baking it for 50 minutes. Seriously, that’s it. And it looks so decadent!

First off, I was a little dubious that I wouldn’t just end up with a spaghetti squash filled with watery cream, but I was wrong! I did make a few very minor modifications:

  1. I omitted the water from the cream mixture.
  2. I didn’t use fresh herbs. I used dried thyme and a sprinkle of Italian Seasoning.
  3. I used a 5-cheese blend instead of a 4-cheese (because more cheese=more delicious)

It was SUPER creamy and delicious! I budgeted myself for a 1/4 serving, so I scooped it all out and put it into a bowl and portioned it out from there because I didn’t think I’d be able to stop if I ate it straight from the squash half. If you can afford more calories and carbs and/or have better self control than I do, it would be super cute and fun to just eat from the squash.

A perk of this is that it’s vegetarian, but if you are a carnivore, this would be amazing with grilled, blackened chicken. I served this with Cajun-style Andouille sausages and it was super tasty. I actually ate the sausage separate from the spaghetti squash, treating it more as a side dish, but my boyfriend mixed it together. So you have variety!

All in all, I would definitely recommend this on a day where you aren’t eating a lot of carbs for your other meals. It is so flavorful (tastes like restaurant alfredo) and feels decadent and rich, even though it’s so easy to make. Though the heavy cream is calorie dense, because you don’t have the calories of pasta, it really isn’t too bad calorie-wise if you practice portion control, too!

Have you tried this recipe? What did you think? Let me know if you’ve tried it or are going to try it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

