Eat Keto in A Crisis

As I mentioned in my last post, I recently had an injury that left me bedridden for 6 weeks. But I managed to stay keto through it all, and lost 10 pounds, too! Below I have compiled a list of tips and foods that kept me (and my family) sane…just remember, if you’re bedridden or have limited mobility for medical reasons, check with your doctor to make sure it’s safe to lose weight with a ketogenic diet.

First of all, assess your activity situation and adjust your macros as necessary. I was 100% stuck in bed. There was no getting around for me. So, I was burning a lot less calories. I stuck strictly to 1,200 a day (I normally eat 1400-1500 max). If you’re in an inactive situation, make sure you’re getting enough protein, because you don’t want to lose any more muscle than you may have to. If you are in a very active situation (like caretaking for someone else), you may need to eat more calories. It all depends, so just be in tune with yourself.

Neither of my caretakers are particularly big fans of cooking, but were willing to cook some for me. I asked them to make some really simple things that were easy for them to portion out and heat up, if necessary:

  • cooked spaghetti squash and Rao’s marinara sauce/ground beef mixture
  • taco meat
  • egg salad
  • chicken salad
  • rotisserie chicken and green beans
  • Atkins frozen dinners

For a portion of my bedrest, my boyfriend was working a lot, so I was alone pretty much all day. I relied on a cooler packed with food as well as dry snacks to have on hand. I would normally steer away from eating a lot of this processed, ‘grab and go’ food, but it is extremely handy-even necessary-in situations like this. It didn’t impede my weight loss and didn’t cause carb cravings either.

Cooler snacks:

  • cheese
  • deli meat
  • rotisserie chicken portioned in bags
  • summer sausage
  • low-carb protein shakes (Muscle Milk only has 2 net carbs for an individual sized shake)
  • berries

Non-perishable snacks:

  • almonds
  • pistachios
  • Quest bars
  • Atkins products (IF artificial sweeteners don’t cause you digestive issues!)
  • parmesan crisps (you can buy them at places like World Market)
  • jerky
  • tuna salad pouches
  • vienna sausages

I hope that these easy keto menu items will help somebody. Terrible things happen in life, and it can make you feel so out of control. I don’t know about y’all, but I have been struggling with my weight all my life- I have never felt in control of it. Even while I felt like my life and body were falling apart, I knew that I was still making the decision to nurture my body and lose the weight necessary for a brighter and healthier future. I think that remaining keto during this rough time not only helped me physically, but emotionally/mentally, too.

Leave a Reply

