Pulled Pork ‘Mac’ and Cheese

I think the best part of keto may be that it is completely acceptable to heat some cream on your stove and add cheddar cheese until it’s thick, and then just pour it over stuff. Any arguments? No?

I used the last of my 5-lb pork roast to make this yummy “mac” and cheese for my boyfriend and me. As it was cooking, I was really excited to have it for lunch the next day…but when I went to put away the leftovers SOMEBODY ATE IT ALL….(Stephen, I’m looking at you). But that being said, I think it speaks volumes when my certainly not keto boyfriend eats up low-carb recipes; I definitely take it as a compliment!

So before we get into the recipe, a couple of notes:

  • I screwed up at the end of this recipe without thinking by adding some extra salt at the same time as the cauliflower, then covering the pot and letting the cauliflower simmer to cook a little longer. DON’T DO THIS. It was still super, super tasty, but the sauce will not be as lusciously thick. Intellectually, I swear I know that these conditions will cause the cauliflower to release water, but I just wasn’t thinking. So make sure your cauliflower is cooked the way you want it, throw it in the cheese sauce, and serve/eat it immediately.
    • If you make this mistake, or if your sauce turns runny: you can add more grated cheese or some cream cheese to thicken it up. I didn’t want to do this and mess up the recipe/macros before posting it here. The sauce should be pretty thick when you’re ready to add the pulled pork/cauliflower (i.e. it should thickly coat the spoon you stir it with)

Pulled Pork ‘Mac’ and Cheese – serves 4 (188g per serving for me)

Nutrition per serving: 486 calories | 7g net carbs | 41g fat | 21g protein

  • 1 medium head of cauliflower, chopped and cooked to your preferred tenderness (mine was 350g, chopped and raw)
  • 157g extra sharp cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 8.5oz pulled pork
  • smoked paprika
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder
  • salt & pepper
  1. Heat heavy cream in a saucepan over medium heat- make sure not to let it boil.
  2. Simmer heavy cream while whisking it until it thickens.
  3. Then, add your cheese and stir it until it melts. Add spices to taste- I used salt and freshly cracked pepper, a pinch of onion powder, a sprinkle or 2 of garlic powder, and a sprinkle of smoked paprika. This made for quite a garlicky, slightly smoky cheese sauce, but you can dress it up however you want! I liked the smokiness with the pork.
  4. If you’re using leftover pulled pork from the fridge, I recommend microwaving it to melt all the fat, then draining it, and then adding the pork to the mac and cheese. Then, add your cauliflower, stir it all together, and serve!
  5. Enjoy, and as always, be creative!
Leave a Reply

