BBQ Chicken Mini Pizzas

Once upon a time, I did Weight Watchers  and they had this really yummy recipe for tortilla pizzas- red onion, chicken in BBQ sauce, and mozzarella on a whole wheat tortilla. Let me tell you, that sweet-smoky flavor combination with the bite of the red onion is a pretty amazing flavor profile! I was really craving and wanted to recreate that flavor, but take it up a notch. After all, that is my favorite thing about keto- it is the most flavor-friendly way of eating out there. Fat=flavor, after all! So I took out a lot of the sugar and carbs (a special splurge for red onions and the BBQ sauce) and replaced it with better ingredients that don’t scream “boy I wish this was a real pizza”…trust me, there was no wishing for something better during this meal! It’s perfect the way it is!

I made these pizzas mini-sized because 1) there’s something empowering about having one (or two) entire pizzas to yourself and still staying within your macros and 2) this way, you can customize pizzas any way you want them. It is also easier to control your portion and calorie/macro intake this way, too! These mini-crusts would also function very well as soft taco tortillas with some different seasonings- while I cut mine with a knife and a fork, my boyfriend ate them taco-style without them breaking and falling everywhere.
One thing that I really like about sharing this recipe with you is that in the process, I get to share 2 of my favorite recipes with you in the process! I used the Cauliflower Pizza Crust from The Lucky Penny Blog, and a keto BBQ sauce from Ruled.Me. Be sure to check out both links and bloggers!

img_6686

BBQ Chicken Mini Pizzas

  • 1 cauliflower pizza crust, prepared (I divided the pizza crust into 4 separate, mini-crusts before baking, then baked as normal)
    • I used 3 cups of cauli-snow and weighed everything- to make sure your nutrition is accurate, make sure to do the same.
    • My dough ended up weighing 220g, which I then portioned out so each pizza crust was 55g.
  • 1 recipe keto BBQ sauce, prepared
    • I omitted the cumin and chili powder, added just a sprinkle of cayenne and only added a tiny bit of mustard. It was insanely, insanely good- and not just for a keto BBQ sauce.
    • This will make more than you need for the recipe, but trust me, you’ll use it!
  • 4oz Gouda cheese
  • 4oz shredded, cooked pork shoulder
  • 10g red onion (make sure to measure this! Red onion is delicious but also very high in carbs, you can go overboard very easily without realizing it)
  1. On each pizza: spread 1 tbsp BBQ sauce, 1oz Gouda, 1oz pork (I ended up using a little less), and 2.5g red onion. Repeat for the rest of the pizzas.
  2. Put in a 450 degree oven (you can keep the oven on from making the pizza crusts) until the cheese is melty and delicious.
  3. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

