Carolina Mustard BBQ Sauce

I am not a gigantic fan of regular BBQ Sauce (though it has its moments). But Carolina Mustard? Yes, please! Obviously one of the best things the best thing about living in Charleston is the incredible food everywhere you go, but the BBQ? It’s everywhere and it’s amazing, and topping it with that tangy, sweet, yellow sauce is the best part.

As we know, and know well, meat is never a bad choice on keto. But sauce…oh the hidden carbs. I feel like there are always so many more carbs than there should be, and really, there don’t need to be that many! So I decided to make my own, basing it off of this delicious recipe from food.com, and making some keto changes. I really didn’t make any big changes, because it is honestly pretty keto-friendly on its own, but I did do some recalculating and weighing and math so that you don’t have to. So basically I’m showcasing none of my own creative talent in this post, but instead showcasing my definitely not incredible mathematical skills. But I hope you find it helpful and delicious!

img_6669

Carolina Mustard BBQ Sauce – yields 15 servings of 22.4g (about 1.5 tbsp, but always weigh!!)

Nutrition per serving: 21 calories | 1 net carb | 0g protein | 2g fat

  • 3/4 cup yellow mustard
  • 3/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1.5 tsp Truvia Brown Sugar
  • 1.5 tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1.25 tsp black pepper, freshly cracked
  • 1 tsp Crystal hot sauce
  1. Whisk ingredients in a saucepan, stirring occasionally as it simmers for 30 minutes.
  2. Let it cool, and enjoy! I find that 22g coats 4oz pulled pork perfectly, for my taste.
Leave a Reply

