Chicken Pizza Zucchini Boats

Tonight was one of those nights where I was in the mood for something different to eat, but didn’t have the will or remote desire to leave the house in search of something different. Plus, I had food in the fridge that I definitely didn’t want to go bad…so I made myself some zucchini boats! I had some Rao’s tomato sauce left, as well as some mozzarella and green pepper, so I figured it was perfect for pizza stuffed zucchini! However, I forgot that I had eaten the last of the pepperonis (Have you ever tried microwaving them until they get crispy and chip-like? So good!) …so I decided to use some of the chicken thighs that I had leftover, and I’ve gotta say, it was pretty dang good.

Since this definitely was an I-need-something-delicious-but-really-don’t-want-to-leave-the-house kind of meal, there are definitely things that could kick it up a notch, but I wanted to show you exactly how I did it, in case you’re in the same (zucchini) boat as I am.

Some tasty substitutions might be:

  • fresh onions instead of onion powder
  • sausage, pepperoni, or BOTH instead of chicken (you could also skip the seasoning if that’s the case)
  • sliced fresh mozzarella instead of shredded (drool..)
  • The possibilities are endless! Make it your own! Just remember to change the nutrition information as needed.

 

Chicken Pizza Zucchini Boats: Serves one.

Nutrition: 366 calories | 6g net carbs | 25g protein | 28g fat (I did not include seasonings, as I used an extremely small amount)

  • 1 small zucchini, split in half and hollowed out (mine weighed 88g when hollowed out)
  • 26g chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp butter
  • 72g boneless chicken thigh, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp grated parmesan
  • 1/4c Rao’s pizza sauce (use whatever you like, but adjust macros accordingly, Rao’s is low in carbs)
  • 28g shredded, part-skim mozzarella
  • Dried oregano
  • Dried basil
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Onion powder
  • Salt & pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and grease a small baking dish. Place the zucchini boats in the dish and set aside.
  2. Heat olive oil and butter together in the pan. While the pan is heating up, season your cut up chicken- I used salt & pepper, and sprinkled oregano and basil on top. (Since this is such a small portion, I don’t have exact measurements, but it’s sure to taste delicious however you do it!)
  3. Sauté chicken in the olive oil/butter mixture with the chopped green peppers. Sprinkle in a little bit of onion powder (1 or 2 shakes) and some red pepper flakes. Cook until chicken is not pink. During the last minute, add your minced garlic to the pan, then spoon the contents of the pan into a small bowl.
  4. To the small bowl, add your parmesan and pizza sauce (and add more red pepper flakes if you like it spicy!). Mix it together, and spoon into your zucchini boats.
  5. Cover the baking dish with foil and bake at 350° for 45 minutes.
  6. When zucchini is tender (when a fork goes into it easily) and everything is hot, remove the foil, and top the boats with cheese.
  7. Place back in the oven and turn on the broiler until the cheese is melted and starting to brown. Enjoy!!
Leave a Reply

