Here’s to new beginnings…

A little over one month ago I set out on a brand new, weird-sounding diet out of desperation. I have been overweight my whole life- in fact, I cannot actually recall a time in my childhood or otherwise that I stepped on a scale and was not told to lose weight. I was given a loose diagnosis of polycystic ovary syndrome when I was 14 (since confirmed), but was never informed that many, many, many women with PCOS have a challenging time with losing and maintaining a healthy weight.

Long story short, I did some research and came across the ketogenic diet- something I’ve certainly never tried before. I was completely convinced that it was fake, to be honest with you. I read study after study and found that science really backs this way of eating, so I gave it a shot starting June 20, 2016. As of July 26, 2016 I have lost 20 pounds and am not even tempted to go back to eating carbs. I feel amazing. It’s like I have finally broken free of this weird, controlling hold that food had on me, and am now rebuilding a healthy relationship with food as I build a healthy body.

So here I am, starting a blog. Food blogs have always been really interesting to me- I certainly use them a lot, and they have been so valuable to me while beginning keto. Now that I am more comfortable with what I can and cannot eat, I thought that I would share my kitchen creations with the internet, as well as inform and inspire¬†anybody who wants to know more about what living a keto lifestyle is like! This is keto, according to me and my life…and I don’t know about you, but I think it’s pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

